Seder pictures and commentary, a bit of personal stuff

Thursday, April 13, 2006
My husband wrote the following for our family regarding the Seder: In the picture below are Ellie, Deb (standing behind Ellie), George, Jim (my husband) , me, Julie (standing behind me), Christopher, Katherine, Edward.
Last night we attended the Passover Seder at Living Word Chapel. About 100 people
attended the 6-10 PM supper. The kids may look happy in this picture but when I told them we were going to the Seder they asked me why?  I told them, “Tradition!” 

z32476074
They then said that we had only gone to one other Seder and how could this be a tradition?
This younger generation has a smart answer for everything!
I’ve been to other Seders. The food at these were nothing to write home about. But the LWC knows how to do good Seder food. We had turkey, string beans, carrots, and fantastic baked potatoes. There was also the usual Seder stuff, horns, readings, matzos, bitter herbs, etc.
But then there was singing and there was Rabbi Michael and his wife. They spoke, telling a glorious story that melds the story of the original Passover, with the symbols of the Seder meal, and passion of Christ. This took about an hour.
I particularly liked how the Rabbi described how at the Passover the family took a lamb (“without spot or blemish”) and taking an absorbent hyssop plant struck the lamb’s blood against the mantle, and then both vertical doorway supports, in such a way that the blood of the innocent lamb would have splattered on the entire family. The pattern of striking the various parts of the doorway would have followed the pattern of the sign of the cross.
Another story concerned the removal of the last traces of leavening from the family’s house. The feather used to sweep the yeast representing the Holy Spirit, the wood spoon representing the cross; the yeast representing sin, and the destruction by fire the destruction of sin on the altar of sacrifice (Jesus).
And of course, the same bitter herbs we were eating would have been the same bitter herbs that Jesus would have dipped in with his betrayer.
At this Seder I asked Christopher to be the “Papa” for the table, with Katherine being the “child.” Next year it will be Edward’s turn to be the “Papa.” Tradition!
[first lines of the play]
Tevye: A fiddler on the roof. Sounds crazy, no? But here, in our little village of Anatevka, you might say every one of us is a fiddler on the roof trying to scratch out a pleasant, simple tune without breaking his neck. It isn’t easy. You may ask ‘Why do we stay up there if it’s so dangerous?’ Well, we stay because Anatevka is our home. And how do we keep our balance? That I can tell you in one word: tradition!
If you are in the neighborhood next year please feel free to join us.
Jim
 
I brought forward the notes from last year’s Seder (below) they are very good to read because they show just how much Christ is represented in the Seder. I also included last year’s pictures. Jim took a few pictures from this year, so I am going to share them.Rabbi Michael and his wife Gail Zeitler are showing how the matzo represents the Body of Christ. It is pierced, and bruised (the scorch marks), and there are stripes.z32427832

I was reading a bit of an answer to the four questions. My reading had to do with Pharaoh being told by God through Moses to “Let My people go”

z32428012

z32428101

We were singing at the end, Rabbi Michael and Gail Zeitler are on the far left, Pastor Don Moore and Cynthia Moore on the Right,  our music minister Joy and her husband Ray Pollard are in the middle.

There were so many hands behind the scenes that didn’t get on the pictures. The teenagers served the tables, many hands cooked incredibly good food in the kitchen, and so many helped with the Seder. We had lots of visitors who had never experienced a Seder before. What a blessing. I kept last year’s pictures in because there were a lot of similarities from the previous year, and it might give an idea of what it was like. I highly encourage you to attend a Seder if you haven’t before.

Heather

 
These are pictures from last year, I thought you might be blessed as Passover will soon be here. Someone mentioned that their church did a Passover and how symbolic it was of Jesus and it recalled to mind my entry from our experience last year. Hope you do not mind the repetition.As promised, Seder picturesz4830582

z4879276

After prayer and songs, the Seder was opened with blowing on shofars. Rabbi Michael is on the far right.

z4830728

Here is Pastor Don and his wife Cynthia.

z4830807

Here are all but Julie who were at the table. Mike who is a wonderful example of God’s healing power, my daughter Katherine in the orange, me, my husband Jim, my sons Christopher and Edward (in red). The boys were particularly happy to be able to wear yalmukas and Jim was in the role of papa.

z4830880

Katherine, with the help of Gail Zeitler was asking one of the questions in Hebrew.

z4830912

Christopher was reading a response to the questions asked.

z4830951

We were examining the matzoh to see the piercings, and stripes and hearing about how it is a perfect picture of Christ.

Here is another group shot of those who attended. Julie had rejoined our table.

z4831001

z4831042

There was a lot of singing and great joy.

We learned a lot and everyone had a good time. There were some funny incidents too, like when Christopher refused to listen to reason and liberally slathered horseradish on his matzoh and we thought he was going to turn red and blow up, but he got it down. What pleased my heart was that everyone is looking forward to next year’s Passover.

Heather

 
Currently Reading
Walking from East to West : God in the Shadows
By Ravi Zacharias, R. S. B. Sawyer
see related

We had an incredible Passover last night. Jim took pictures, so I will update the Passover entry and add some more pictures. Funny how each year the Passover is different (this being my second Passover, so I don’t have a lot of experience.) Right now in the Kay Arthur study of Ruth and the Kinsman Redeemer we are going over all the Passover passages. Pretty incredible.

I am reading Ravi Zacharias’ autobiography, Walking from East to West and came across a quote that I immediately read to my kids.

Page 12 “I have concluded that it is an exercise that is well undertaken by everybody–to journal and write down one’s thoughts at shorter intervals. Memories are good reminders of what God has done and where we could have done better. I remember the time an older man asked me when I was young, ‘Do you know what you are doing now?’ I thought it was some kind of trick question.
‘Tell me,’ I said.
‘You are building your memories,’ he replied, ‘so make them good ones.’
If each reader would glean just that from the book than it will have been worth it.”

Ravi Zacharias then goes on to talk about how in every life you wished you did things differently, and stated that he wished he had gotten more of his parent’s history. and continues “I nevertheless came away with the absolute certainty that God has ordered my steps and that God was there, even in the darkest moments of my life. I know this as surely as I know I exist. He never abandoned me and has brought me by His grace and mercy this far. This is the most certain truth I possess, and it is truly liberating.”

For me it is interesting that as I pursue God more in my reading and study I am beginning to see more of God in my past. At one point I thought God only intervened about four years ago, but now I am seeing His hand more frequently in my past.

Wanted to share a funny story with you. Last night at the Passover my middle son was so angry that my husband made him go, he was sitting there at the table wishing he was anywhere but there. My daughter was worried all this week that yesterday we were going to go to the dentist (we weren’t), and it wasn’t until mid day that she finally believed that we had not made dentist appointments (something we usually do during breaks so the kids don’t miss much school).

Pastor Don comes in and says a prayer, and comments, “I can see that Ed doesn’t want to be here.” (Edward was facing away from Pastor Don, and not displaying any outward sign- it was a Holy Spirit thing).” Ed don’t worry, it isn’t like going to the dentist, and having a tooth pulled. We aren’t going to pull any teeth.”

Ed smiled – and this morning when I woke up, it dawned on me how wonderful the Holy Spirit was, to realize Ed’s state of mind, and at the same time mention dentist – what Katherine had feared all that day.

Hope you have a blessed day. When Jim gets the pictures downloaded I will share them, and maybe continue on in Revelation.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in 2006 Pastor Don Moore Teachings, photos, Rabbi Gail Zeitler, Rabbi Michael Zeitler, Seder and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

