Personal notes Revelation 13 beast from the sea

Saturday, April 08, 2006
Before I begin my next reading of the Bible from Genesis to Revelation, not sure what I will focus on yet, I have been completing something that I began a few years ago. Using the Dake Bible and my NKJV Bible I have been marking all the prophesies, the completed ones in blue, unfulfilled ones in yellow, and partially fulfilled ones in yellow and blue. The incredible amount of fulfilled prophesies is mind-boggling. Sure adds an appreciation for the fact that if there are so many fulfilled ones, that the odds are way in favor of the unfulfilled ones being fulfilled (even besides the fact that God doesn’t lie).

This has been a hard time period for me, and I seem to be wrestling depression, and sort of want to run away from home (of course I won’t do that, but that is how I feel). I need a period of peace, and with three teens and a husband that is difficult to come by right now. I am just tired of being the hated one because I enforce what my husband tells me to tell them, and I make these unreasonable demands like do your homework, and treat each other with respect. I would give anything to have my husband take my side in an issue, but he chooses to be their friend, not their parent, sigh. I think it is harder on me because I am not entirely sure what “normal” is because of my past. Of course my pastor tells me that I am doing a phenomenal job with my kids, that they are very good ones, but I don’t know what a normal teenager life is like, having never had one.

Revelation 13:1-10 The beast from the sea

Here is an outline of the chapter.

Well, now we have events coming to a head (perhaps 7 heads) with the coming of the beast from the sea – the antichrist, and he will herald the last 3 1/2 years of the great tribulation. To date, the bride (believers are in heaven with Jesus), the two witnesses are in heaven, there are many martyrs in heaven, and there is chaos on the earth because of the seal judgments and the trumpet judgments. Soon the bowl judgments will occur and in them the Wrath of God will be complete.

In verse 1, John stands on the sand of the sea and sees a beast rising out of the sea (often in the Bible the sea or water represents nations – so the antichrist will arise out of those left on the earth).

Here is the description of this beast:

7 heads
10 crowns
and on his heads a blasphemous name
Like a leopard
Feet like the feet of a bear
mouth like the mouth of a lion
The dragon (which we saw in Revelation 12:9 is satan) gives the beast his power, his throne, and great authority.

Revelation 12:3 And I saw one of his heads as if it had been mortally wounded, and his deadly wound was healed. And all the world marveled and followed the beast. So they worshipped the dragon (satan) who gave authority to the beast; and they worshiped the beast, saying, “Who is like the beast? Who is able to make war with him?”

According to verse 5, he is given a mouth speaking great things and blasphemes, and is given an authority to continue for 42 months (42 Divided by 12 = 3 1/2 years)

This will be the unholy trinity – satan – antichrist -and the little beast (mouth) who assists antichrist.

This beast will blaspheme against God, God’s name, and God’s tabernacle (the rebuilt temple at Jerusalem), and those who dwell in heaven.

This beast will make war against the saints (those who are believers who believed since the rapture) and overcome them. And the beast will be given authority over every tribe, tongue, and nation. All who dwell on the earth will worship him, (that is those whose names are not written in the Book of Life of the Lamb slain from the foundation of the world).

*** Verse 9 If anyone has an ear let him hear. This is very similar to the quote used in chapters 2 & 3 which was written to the churches – it does not say as in those chapters though, what the spirit of God says to the churches. It doesn’t add that last passage because the churches are already in Heaven.

Verse 10 He who leads into captivity shall go into captivity, he who kills with the sword must be killed with the sword. Here is the patience and faith of the saints.

It is probably a good idea to check out what other passages in the Bible have to say about the antichrist.

1 John 2:18-23 tells us that after the last hour the antichrist is coming, but in John’s day there were many antichrists – the definition of antichrist is a liar, one who denies the Father and the Son. If you deny the Son you also do not have the Father. (Today on the news with all the DaVinci code and now the Judas Gospel, we can see sure signs of many antichrists looking for ways to demean the work that Christ did on the Cross).

1 John 4: 1-6 We are warned not to believe every spirit, to test them and see whether they are from God. There will be false prophets going out into the world, and every spirit that confesses Jesus Christ has come in the flesh is from God, If they try to deny that Christ came in the flesh, is not from God, they are an antichrist.

II John 1-9 Many deceivers have gone out into the world. They do not acknowledge Jesus Christ as coming in the flesh. If you do not abide in the teaching of Christ you do not have God

I want to skip ahead a bit to give you more information of the beast (antichrist). It may be helpful to glance at Revelation 13-19 to glean more information about the beast.

Revelation 17:8-11

The beast was and is not
He is about to come up  out of the abyss and go into destruction
Those on earth whose name is not written in the Book of Life will wonder when they see   the beast, that he was and is not and will come.
7 heads – 7 mountains on which the woman sits, 7 kings, 5 fallen, one is, and one has not yet come. who will remain a little while
The  beast is himself an 8th  and is one of the seven and he goes to destruction.

A few other things about the beast:

Where does the beast come from? The sea – from among the people.

Where does he get his power? from satan

What is the extent of his power? For how long? 42 months, the last 3 1/2 years of Daniel’s 70th week, satan gives him his power, great authority, and a throne. He is given authority over every tribe, nation, tongue, and peoples. power over all the earth, a one world ruler.

What is his rule like? arrogant words, he will appear to die but revive, he makes war with the saints, against God, dictatorial type, rules the people, forces them to take a mark in order to buy and sell, those who don’t take the mark he will execute.

Who are his associates? 2nd beast, exercises authority of the first beast in his presence to make all on earth worship the 1st beast – this second beast will perform great signs, create an image of the beast and force people to worship on fear of death, and he will make those take a mark of the beast either on their head or their hands. The kings of the earth will associate with the beast, and 3 demons like frogs empowered by the dragon, false prophet, and Babylon.

What is his relationship with Babylon. Babylon is sitting on the beast, Babylon is reigning over all the kings of the earth, and the beast will ultimately destroy Babylon. Babylon is the dwelling place for demons and unclean spirits..

What happens to his kingdom? How? When? Babylon is destroyed. Then after Jesus’ s second coming the beast is sent to the pit.

The beast’s marked ones are hurt by first bowl being poured out on those with the mark of the beast, the 5th bowl is poured out on the beast’s kingdom and when the Lord comes the beast and false prophet are thrown into the lake of fire.

What is his end? How? When Jesus throws them in the lake of fire along with the 2nd beast. The rest of his followers are killed with the sword and all the birds are filled with their flesh.

I know that there are tons of questions about the antichrist. And we will be skipping around a bit in Revelation – so when we get to those chapters later, we may be able to go through them a bit more quickly. But I think tomorrow we will lay down a foundation about some of the characteristics of the beast and some history – as seen in Daniel, Matthew, and II Thessalonians. For it will help to add more light to the beast.

Hope you have an enjoyable day, it is the first day of the  kids’ spring break.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

