Personal stuff – God has not given up on the Jews

Saturday, March 04, 2006
 
Some say that God has given up on the Jews, but if that is so, why would James have written in James 1:1 “James, a bondservant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, to the twelve tribes which are scattered abound: Greetings.”You only need to read Romans 9, 10 and 11 to see that God still has a heart for Israel, and that He will save a remnant.

A loving Father, God will not want any to perish, but He also will give free will. If people Jews and Gentiles keep rejecting Him, at one point they will cross that line and God will give them the desires of their heart, to not be with Him.

I remember when I was first talking with Pastor Don I told Him that I felt that God had hardened my heart. That, like Pharaoh, God did not want me in His kingdom so He hardened my heart. At that time I was still angry with God and figured He didn’t care about me at all, because, after all, He did not protect me when I needed Him so badly as a child. He called my attention to Moses’ dealings with Pharaoh and pointed out that  Pharaoh at first hardened his own heart. Up until after the fifth plague, it was Pharaoh who hardened his heart. After that the Lord honored this and hardened Pharaoh’s heart for the remaining plagues. I think there is a certain line drawn, and once we cross it we have committed our selves irrevocably. I am so grateful that I never reached the point where God honored my hardened heart. And like He is going to do for the remnant of Jews, He replaced my hardened heart with a tender heart.

There is an interesting analogy in this too, for when the judgments come down on the people, up to a point God spends a lot of energy to reach the people so that they repent, but after awhile they do not repent.

I suspect that since in Chapters 4 & 5 the Church is in Heaven that God is sending out the 144,000 to spread His gospel to the people to draw more into Christ’s Kingdom. It will not be a pleasant time to be on earth because besides having the judgments raining down, there will also be the need to contend with the antichrist and his minions. There will be persecutions.

If you look at Revelation 7:9-12 you see that there are multitudes that come from the great tribulation. Which is sad for they come through persecution on earth;  but also good, for they are saved. They are standing before the throne and before the Lamb. They have white robes (symbol of righteousness through Christ) and carrying Palm branches. The last time Palm branches were mentioned it was to honor Jesus when He rode into Jerusalem on a donkey. They cry with a loud voice, “Salvation belongs to our God who sits on the throne, and to the Lamb!” And then they also join in the heavenly worship of God.

I still think of the song, “I can only imagine.” when it comes to worshipping God in Heaven.

Hope you have a blessed weekend. I have not been well, I seem to have caught a bad cold, so could use prayers to feel better. I promised my son to take him and his friends bowling today.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

