Personal studies seventh seal

Tuesday, February 28, 2006
The Seventh Seal is opened, and it is the prelude to the seven trumpets. Man will have faced the repercussions of his sin, and now God will start responding to the earth, with the start of the tribulation.

When the 7th seal is opened, an angel comes out and is carrying a golden censer, standing before the altar, and offers it with the prayers of all the saints upon the golden altar.

The smoke of the incense and the prayers of the saints ascend before God.

Then the angel takes the censer and fills it with fire from the altar and throws it to earth, and there are noises, lightning and thunderings and an earthquake.

An aside, did you ever notice how the book of Joshua seems to parallel Revelation? I will share a few points to get you started, but there are many comparisons. That is what I love about the Bible, you find picture illustrations in the Old Testament of the New Testament principles.

7 Trumpets in Revelation – Joshua marched 7 days around Jericho then blew the trumpets.

Joshua means Jesus.

Joshua leads the people into a land where there were battles to be fought to rout out the usurpers. Jesus will lead the army in Revelation into the promised land to rout out the usurpers.

How many usurpers were there in the promised land in Joshua? According to Genesis 15, there were 10, the 10 nations mentioned in Daniel 7 and 10. Remember the horns coming out of the beast and the 10 toes of Daniel.

God’s people were in Egypt for 400 years. The Jews were dispersed until the 1940’s after the destruction of the temple in 70 A.D.

2 spies are sent in to scope out the land, and in Revelation, two witnesses come to share God’s word.

In Revelation 7, before the trumpets are sounded the remnant 144,000 are marked, and before Joshua moved his army they too were marked by circumcision.

In Joshua the sun stands still, and in Revelation there are signs in the sun, moon and stars.

And in Joshua, even though he fought, more were killed by God than by the sword, and the same will be true in Revelation when Jesus comes forth with His Word.

This is just a few ideas kicking around in my head, but there are many others. I have often prayed that I would one day be a person who could have a relationship with God like Joshua son of Nun.

Back to Revelation Chapter 8: verse 1. When the seal is opened there will be silence in heaven for 1/2 hour. This will be most unusual for what we have seen in Revelation 4 & 5 is a continual worshipping and praise of God, that silence will have such an ominous lack of sound. Perhaps it is God listening, but after that silence will come such a tremendous amount of suffering as God begins cleansing the earth.

And yet, in the midst of all the terror there is still the hope that some will repent and be saved. Sometimes (at least in my life) we need a wake-up call to realize that we do need God. I had to get to a pretty low point in my life before I reached out to God, and I am certain that with His great love for us, that He too hopes that people will wake up. You will see angels making announcements in heaven, the two witnesses being sent, the 144,000. God is really trying to reach man. We are fortunate for we are there with God at this time of tribulation, for God did not appoint us to wrath. (again, I know there are differing beliefs about this, but I am believing what God has promised, and truth be told, it will work out just as God ordains). My goal is just to show God’s love to as many as possible so that they come to know the incredible love of Jesus and accept Jesus into their lives, and the denominational beliefs are secondary to that.

I will share more about how I came to the belief that we are in heaven during this through Bible passages that seem to indicate that. But, that has to be at a later time.

Hope you have a blessed day!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

