Personal study notes Revelation -fifth seal

Tuesday, February 21, 2006
The fifth seal has to do with the martyrs,

When this seal is broken, John saw under the altar the souls of those who had been slain for the word of God and for the testimony which they held.

The word testimony in Greek is marturia (which is the same root that we get the word martyr from). They will cry out in a loud voice, “How long, O Lord, holy and true, until You judge and avenge our blood on those who dwell on the earth?”

They will be given a white robe and told to rest a little while longer until the number of their fellow servants and their brother, who would be killed was completed.

So, at this time not all who would be martyred have been. This makes sense for there will be many killed who will refuse to take the mark of the beast or worship the idol. There will be many converted by the events taking place on the earth and by the testimony of the two witnesses and the 144,000.

Regarding white robes, there are many in heaven who will wear them. The church at Sardis (the one which was dead) if they hold fast and repent, not defiling their garments, they will walk with Jesus in white. and not have their name blotted from the book of life.

Also those who accompany Jesus on his second coming will be wearing white,

There are many ways that people interpret Revelation. Each has their rationale, and this is not to cause division, for no matter what we believe, what God has prophesied will come to pass, and the end is the same for all of the beliefs.

One school of interpretation for Revelation is Preterism, this states that many of the events have already come to pass, and there are three categories in this, mild, moderate, and extreme. The moderate state that the Millennium is the kingdom which Jesus established with his first coming, and Christians are now reigning as kings on the earth. Some have an early date for the writing of Revelation, before the destruction of Jerusalem in ad 70. and the temple in Revelation is believed to be the one destroyed in AD 70, with the 7 kings being the Roman Emperors.

The next school of interpretation is Historicism – and this states that the current church age is the tribulation or Daniel’s 70th week. it is based on a day-by-day theory so that the 1260 days of Daniel and Revelation are literal years, rather than days. The goal of the historist is to figure out when the antichrist (usually believed to be the Roman Church and Papacy) came into power and then add 1260 years to discern when Jesus will return.  They try to correlate events of this current age with the prophesies in Revelation.  They take a more spiritualistic approach to the Word of God.

Futurism holds to the view  of predictive prophecy as future to the current church age, and would believe that the events of Revelation 6-20 have yet to be fulfilled and will correlate the time of Daniel’s 70th week to the day of the Lord with a literal 1000 year reign of the Christ on the earth. They hold to a literal interpretation of the Word that allows for figures of speech and symbolic language.

Idealism holds that they cannot interpret the passages in Revelation literally for they don’t believe that the timing is important or knowable. They look for the principles  or lessons that they can glean for their lives through the prophetic passages.

I guess by now you can assume that the viewpoint that I have is that of FUTURISM, for when, through the Kay Arthur studies, I have listed out the events mentioned in Revelation, many haven’t taken place yet on earth, so rather than trying to squeeze into Revelation events, I have chosen to take Revelation at it’s word. My rationale is that this is a book of prophecy, and that the past prophecies in the Bible have come to pass, or are confirmed by the prophecies in Revelation, so I am trusting that these prophecies in Revelation will come to pass just as God has spelled out.

But please know that we, as the body of Christ, do not need division among us. We need to grow together and trust that God will reveal truth to us as we study the Word, and not argue among ourselves, but just love.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

