Personal study notes on Revelation the seals

Sunday, February 19, 2006
This was quite the challenging day. The kids were testing their limits, and I held out for apologies before privileges would be given like eating snacks or IM’ing. Do you really survive the teenage years? I am feeling like I want to go on a looooong vacation, say about six years, or am lovingly thinking of cryogenics for a few years until the difficult times are past. One plus of the teenage years is that I am often driven to pray.

Thinking of Revelation and the rapture I am contemplating “Beam me up Jesus”, oh well, guess we must wait until the right time, which only God knows!

Anyway, in Revelation we were discussing the opening of the seals, and seeing how Jesus was the only one worthy to break the seals on the title deed of Earth, how those on Earth are thinking that it is God’s wrath, when in reality it is the results of their sinful behaviors coming home to roost.

Seal one was the white horse, the rider had a bow and a crown, and a crown was given to him, and he went out conquering and to conquer. The odds favor this being the antichrist, for the crown is stephanos, a temporary crown given to a victor in a contest, one that will fade, and the rider has a bow, but no arrows. Remember a white horse does not necessarily mean good.

Seal two was a companion, a fiery red horse, and the one who sat on it was to take peace from the earth, people kill one another, and there was given to him a great sword. When peace is not from God, and is a peace that comes from conquering, the peace will not last, for man-made peace is filled with flaws. We will not have true peace until the millennium when Jesus comes to rule and reign for the 1000 years.

The third seal is a rider on a black horse, carrying scales in his hand. And a voice in the midst of the four living creatures says, “A quart of wheat for a denarius, and three quarts of barley for a denarius, and do not harm the oil and the wine.” This is obviously famine, something that often accompanies war, for people are not there to farm their land, and the land is often destroyed in a war. A denaris is a day’s wage, and that means that there is little food, for one quart of wheat is not enough to keep a person alive for a day. What is sad is that the objects of luxury, the oil and wine are not limited. When there is famine and scarcity, rationing is an end result. Such rationing also helps to consolidate the power of whatever leader is in power, for the people are beholden to the leader for their sustenance.

Amos 8:11 “Behold, the days are coming,” says the Lord God, “That I will send a famine on the land, not a famine of bread, nor a thirst for water, but of hearing the words of the Lord.”

There are more kinds of famine than just lack of food. Jesus told satan that man does not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God. In our day and time there is a famine of the Word of God, and that is sad because when real crisises come we are going to not have the weapons to fight the problems, for our problems are not of the earth only, but also of principalities and powers, things that we don’t see. Best we fill up on the Word of God, know the scripture, know that the Bible has to say so that we are not sleeping when the end comes, but are ready to do what must be done. To fight the good fight and to recognize which way the wind is blowing.

I have to tell you that the antichrist’s companions of war and famine are frightening, and unfortunately they lead to even worse problems.

I am so grateful that God has given us His Word, His Prophesies so that we are not taken unawares, and can know what is happening. I suspect that as time draws nearer for the ultimate battles, the attacks of the world will increase more. I was saddened to hear that Christians in Nigeria were killed today by Muslims for the “sin” of being a Christian. Times are getting tougher and tougher.

Tomorrow my brood has a day off from school. Not sure what we want to do. One has a cold, so skiing is out for him, one has a ton of homework (which could have been done today, but nooooo). My daughter isn’t going to be happy with any choice of plans if her brothers are along for the ride. Me, I would love to sleep late, but can’t. I pray for a peaceful day tomorrow, I could use one of those.

Hope you have a blessed night,

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

