Personal study notes Revelation 6

Tuesday, February 14, 2006
HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY!!!!

I am praying that you find the greatest romance possible, that of a strong relationship with Jesus. He loves us so much that it is hard to conceive.

When we last left off in Revelation, Chapter 6 we saw that the Lamb (Lion of the Tribe of Judah) was worthy to open the seals and he opened the first seal, the man on the white horse. Oh what a trickster. When I grew up cowboy shows were big, and the good guy always wore a white hat, the bad guy a black hat. Unfortunately in this case the bad guy comes around on a white horse and spouting peace, peace. Unfortunately peace is not what he has in mind, for his companions are rather unsavory.

When Jesus opened the second seal the second living creature told John to come and see, Rev. 6:4 “Another horse, fiery red, went out. And it was granted to the one who sat on it to take peace from the earth, and that people should kill one another; and there was given to him a great sword.”

After the false peace of the first rider, what follows is war and it is war with a great sword. Jesus is also described as having a sword, a sharp two-edged sword which comes out of His mouth -these are the powerful Words of God, the word of truth which kills lies.

To conquer by peace will not work, for a false peace treaty will lead to political division, and ultimately war. James 4 talks about this, James 4:1-3 “Where do wars and fights come from among you? Do they not come from your desires for pleasure that war in your members? You lust and do not have. You murder and covet and cannot obtain. You fight and war. Yet you do not have because you do not ask. You ask and do not receive, because you ass amiss, that you may spend it on your pleasures.”

Since the fall of Rome there have been very few years (something like 72) where there wasn’t a war somewhere in this world. War serves a few purposes. If you ever notice, often when the leaders of a country need to keep in power, a war is used to help keep the country focused on other areas than where the real problems lie. War is used for population control, scientific advances are made during war times, it keeps the economy stimulated, and dissipates boredom. The only other way to control a nation is slavery in the old way, which also produces many of the same outcomes of war. When a country wants resources of another country often war is employed to conquer. We war among ourselves when we desire what others have, power others have, or relationships that others have.

The only way to dispel war is to turn control over to God, and focus on God. To pray and obey, then we diffuse the war within ourselves and without, but the flesh does not give in easily. We need God to help us keep peace, for we cannot do it in our own power.

The antichrist, after espousing peace, will need to consolidate his power, and gain control to do what he purposes to do, so war is a natural outcome of the false peace promised by the first rider. And of course war has the negative outcomes of famine and death.

Whenever we try to do things our way we muck up big time. In the OT, Israel began to reach its decline when it changed from a theocracy (rule by God) to a monarchy (rule by king), and God even warned them what would happen if they chose to be ruled by a king.

The first sign of downfall was shown in the poignant verse in Judges 21:25 “In those days there was no king in Israel; everyone did what was right in his own eyes.” Isn’t that what is happening today, do what you feel is right, what matters is me. Self-esteem, etc. Takes the focus off of God and leads us to the dangerous territory of feelings.

In I Samuel Israel demands a king, and Samuel warns the people in Chapter 8 that God told him verses 11-18 the things that will happen, the king would reign over their sons, appoint them for his chariots and horsemen, some will run before the chariots, captains, some will serve the king and reap his harvest, weapons of war will be made by some, the king will take daughters to be perfumers, cooks and bakers, and the king will take the best fields, vineyards, etc. A huge difference from rule by God, yet the people clamored for a king. From the time of Saul on, Israel was under the rulership of kings, some good/some bad, mostly bad unfortunately. Then Israel lost their ability to rule when they were dispersed throughout the nations after A.D.70 when the temple was destroyed. But never fear the best king is yet to come for Israel, the Lion of the Tribe of Judah.

But until then, with the earth in crisis, check out Matthew 24 and 25, people will be clamoring for a strong leader to bring peace on the earth, this leader will come forward, promising peace, war will ensue, and unfortunately those left on earth are in for a rough time.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

