Personal study notes Revelation – throne room seal judgments

Sunday, February 12, 2006
Back to Revelation.

Oh what a stage setting! – The Throne Room of God, the elders, four living creatures, the worship, and best of all The Lamb of God. Worship forever and ever. I can only imagine……

And best of all, very soon the title deed to earth is going to be redeemed when the Lamb is found worthy to take the scroll (but what a price He paid for us and our redemption!!!!).

Next come the Seal Judgments – judgment’s that are caused by our own sins,

Jesus breaks the first of the seals and one of the four living creatures cries out with a voice like thunder, “Come and see”.

What do we see?

Revelation 6:1-2 Now I saw when the Lamb opened one of the seals; and I heard one of the four living creatures saying with a loud voice like thunder, “Come and see.” And I looked, and behold a white horse. He who sat on it had a bow; and a crown was given to him and he went out conquering and to conquer.

This is a white horse, but it is not THE white Horse that Jesus will ride. Remember satan imitates and deceives while those on earth will see a white horse, it does not mean that the rider has the best of intentions for those on earth. The rider carries a bow – but no arrows – the rider does not have the weapons, just the threat of the weapons. Some suggest that the bow might be a reminder of a covenant (similar to when God made a rainbow for Noah) but this covenant that the rider will make is a seven year peace treaty, which will be broken after 3 1/2 years (check out Daniel 9 which details the 70 weeks. (you know, to make a false covenant is one way that people have used to conquer and this rider goes out to conquer) The crown that the rider is wearing is not a diadem but a stephanos – which is an ivy wreath that was given to the victors in completions, but the stephanos does not have the lasting quality of a diadem made of gold, silver, or precious stones. The rider on the white horse is the antichrist, and he will destroy many by peace. The people will trust the peace treaty that Israel will accept – a seven year treaty – and this treaty will be broken after 3 1/2 years when the abomination of desolation sets foot in the temple.

Many of the prophecies set forth in Revelation can be found in Daniel 7, Daniel 12,  Matthew 24 & 25, Ezekiel 36 & 37 and II Thes 2.

When we talk about Daniel’s 70 weeks, it is a period of 7 weeks and 62 weeks which equals 69 weeks, mentioned before the last week of the 70 is described. These seventy sevens are usually considered years, or 490 years.

Before the 70th week is described, Daniel is told that there are 69 weeks, and Messiah would be cut off and the city and sanctuary destroyed.

After 69 weeks (483 years, composed of 360 days per year as the Israel counted years) Jesus was crucified, then in A.D. 70 the temple was destroyed. It is assumed that the timing was put on hold after the Jews were dispersed. In 1948 the unimaginable occurred, after thousands of years being dispersed, Israel returned to the land, and the countdown began again with the last week of Daniel’s 70 weeks. If we study Revelation, we realize that the antichrist could not have come yet, for the temple has not been rebuilt and sacrifices have not been reinstated. Much has been done in preparation for this day, and the red heifer has again made an appearance in the land. A red heifer is needed to sanctify the temple.

The companions of the rider on the white horse are not great companions, one who will take peace away, famine, and death and Hades. Compare that to the holy warriors that accompany Jesus when He comes back on His white horse. Jesus warns us against false prophets and teachers who talk about peace, when there is no peace.

No one knows when the seals will be broken, in Matthew Jesus reminds the disciples that no one knows the day or the hour that these things will occur. But we can trust that they will occur when God deems the time right. And in the mean time we are to be ready, like the virgins with the lamps, or like the servant waiting for his master. If we act like the last days can be any second, it will mean that our actions will be focused on God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit and we will be doing His work. Even if the last days do not come in our lifetime, we still would do well to keep acting as if any second they could happen.

I know that there are many views of Revelation, and some place the timing of events different from what I am saying above. The conclusions that I am using have come from the studies that I have done comparing scriptures to scriptures, drawing time lines, etc. It is my best understanding of what the scriptures are saying, but I also know that there are other opinions out there. No matter where the events are placed by various theologies, the important thing to remember is that in the end, Jesus wins/satan loses, and we who are saved and have a relationship with Jesus will be where Jesus is, for He has gone and prepared a place for us.

I hope that what I am writing is clear, it is hard to condense several different study courses into one comprehensive writing.

My main sources are Kay Arthur, Pastor Don Moore, Jon Courson, and other commentaries. I think for me the most profound thing that I have had to do in my studies is a time line that compares the events of Revelation with other scriptures in the OT and the NT, and finding out how accurately they line up in the order of events and what is portrayed. We really do serve an awesome God.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

