Personal study notes Revelation 5 – who is worthy?

Monday, February 06, 2006
Up in heaven John is weeping because he is wondering Who is worthy to open the scroll. Revelation 5:3Notice again that it is who is WORTHY, not who is willing. Many of us might be willing to do so and tried to rule the earth, but only one is Worthy. I am sure it comes to no surprise that that one will be Jesus.

In verse 4 John wept much (in Greek it implies a sobbing, convulsing, agonized weeping.) But one of the elders comforted John. In our churches, given that what is on earth mirrors Heaven, our elders should also be in the role of comforting the brethren when they are upset. So often that is not the case, but in Revelation we see the elders asking provocative questions then using the questions as springboards for teaching, they comfort when upset, and they worship intensely.

In Verse 5 the elder says, “Do not weep, Behold, the Lion of the tribe of Judah, the Root of David, has prevailed to open the scroll and to loose its seven seals.”

That is an interesting description of Jesus,

Lion of the Tribe of Judah – takes us back to Genesis 49 with Jacob’s death and his blessings of the 12 sons. Genesis 49:9-12 Judah is a lion’s whelp; From the prey, my son, you have gone up. He bows down, he lies down as a lion; and as a lion, who shall rouse him? The scepter shall not depart from Judah, nor a lawgiver from between his feet, until Shiloh comes; and to Him shall be the obedience of the people. Binding his donkey to the vine, and his donkey’s colt to the choice vine, He washed his garments in wine, and his clothes in the blood of grapes. His eyes are darker than wine and his teeth whiter than milk.

Shiloh is a reference to Christ. and Jesus rode into Jerusalem on a donkey, and often in Revelation and in the prophesies, the terms the winepress of God’s wrath is mentioned. Jesus took God’s wrath fully on the cross for us.

But there is a wonderful bit of history of the Jews that applies to this, and this teaching blew my socks off. In fact right now I am barefoot typing (am barefoot, but not because socks blew off).

The year is 12 A.D., Springtime in Jerusalem. The Romans made a law that decreed that the Jewish people could no longer commit capital punishment, that all criminals had to be brought before the Roman leaders if the punishment had to result in death.

Now once the ability to deal directly with criminals was taken away from the Jews, they mourned because it meant that the scepter had been removed from them, and in their minds the prophesy did not come true that Messiah would come and take the scepter. From the time of Noah, capital punishment was considered a key to government. It also meant that capital punishment would no longer be stoning (the Jewish way), but the Roman way, of being hung on a tree, crucifixion.

The interesting thing is that at that time in spring, during the Passover a family made their way to Jerusalem, celebrated and worshiped, and then left Jerusalem. Part way home they discovered that one of their members was left in Jerusalem. A mad and frantic search ensued until they found their 12 year old son standing in the temple and debating with the scribes and Pharisees. When asked why He was not with the family, He mentioned that He had to be about His Father’s business. That person was Jesus.

So the prophecy of Shiloh came true, and the scepter did not leave Israel, for the Messiah had come.

The other definition of the one worthy to take the scroll is the Root of David.

Jesus is descended from David, but He is also the root of David, for Jesus existed before creation. Genesis and John both begin with in the beginning was the Word. We know that Jesus is the Word of God.  Jesus brought this up when he was being questioned by the Pharisees, Matthew 22:41-46 While the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them, saying, ‘What do you think about the Christ? Whose Son is He?’ They said to Him, ‘The Son of David.” He said to them, ‘How then does David in the Spirit call Him “Lord” saying: ‘The Lord said to my Lord, “Sit at My right hand, till I make Your enemies Your footstool’ If David then calls Him ‘Lord’ How is He his Son? And no one was able to answer Him a word, nor from that day on did anyone dare question Him anymore.

More tomorrow, the kids are home from school and the computer is in demand, sigh. Pray patience for me, as one of them is rather moody.

Have a blessed day!

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

