Personal stuff – Bible study thoughts

Wednesday, October 12, 2005
Oh my, between my husband needing the computer for business and the kids for school and games, I am losing time on the computer big time. I am so sorry for that.

I started getting some of the books you have suggested for Katherine, and picked up a few of the ones suggested for me. Plan to read them soon, but right now am in the midst of the Beth Moore study and a Revelation study by Kay Arthur, and the Discipleship course by Pastor Don. That combo is keeping me hopping.

Here are a few things that I have learned from the video that accompanies the Beth Moore study. Some of these thoughts opened my eyes.

Beth talks about comparing the verses of Genesis 18: 17-19 with Genesis 18:20-21

The first set of verses is God speaking to Himself about whether or not He should speak to Abraham about Sodom, the second set of verses is God talking to Abraham.

It shows that God’s actions are perfectly consistent with His thoughts and shows again Abraham’s role as Prophet. Beth thinks this is an awesome thought to keep in mind because God says that He knows the thoughts He thinks of us Jeremiah 29:11-12, and His thoughts are always perfect.

The other thing she pointed out that seems true is that often God’s wonders are not always spelled out in the Bible, that we discover the wonderful nature of God in our walk with Him, but God spells out each and every warning, so that we cannot miss the warnings. We cannot say, you never told us this…God has.

With the second discourse, Genesis 18:20-21 God is engaging Abraham to walk with Him so that He could teach Abraham to walk like Him. God is planning to check out Sodom before he brings down destruction on the city. He is showing that you don’t bring a harsh judgment on a city or a person without knowing the facts.

Why would God call us into intercessory prayer if He wasn’t going to hear what we say. I am touched that Abraham barters down God, and that God listens and responds.

There are few people that God called “Friend”, one was Abraham and the other was Moses. Beth said, I want to know what it takes to be God’s friend. (me too!!!)  John 15:14-16 talks about obeying, and knowing the secrets of His heart. Agape love.

God gives us permission to question Him too. In Job, the oldest book of the Bible, God lets Job ask the question of Would God do wrong? As we build our relationship with God and begin to trust Him, we begin to see that God sees more than we do, knows more than we do, and that we can trust Him to be a true and just. That God’s words and actions match is another good indicator.

There was much more in the video, but these thoughts impacted me greatly.

Hope you have a blessed day, and I can’t wait to get to your sites. We need to get more than one computer hooked up to the internet. I am feeling cut off these days.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in Heather's personal Bible study notes, personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment