Personal stuff – answering questions from others.

Friday, July 01, 2005
Megan, (6/22/13- Megan’s xanga site shut down) took me up on the reciprocal questions. Here are the ones that she gave to me.1. What is your favorite thing to do on a rainy day?

If possible (and it always isn’t) I love to sleep longer on a rainy day. Wake up to a leisurely breakfast, and have some fun with my kids. One of our favorite rainy day things is to go to a movie with them, or to rent movies and pop popcorn and watch. If we are watching at home, we like to watch old science fiction movies like the Fog or the Creature from the Deep or a Harryhausen movie like Jason and the Argonauts. We used to always watch Mystery Science Theater 2000 when it was on the Sci-Fi channel (before they changed their format). They had robots and a man who made funny comments about the mistakes in the movie. We still do that when we watch the old movies.

2. What accomplishment of yours are you the most proud of?

I think the thing I am most proud of is becoming a parent totally unlike my parents. Knowing that my kids know that I love them. I have not brought the abuse of my past into a future generation. And with the help of God, I have redeemed a lot of the hurt from my past. There is much more to go, but if you had known me many years ago, you would not recognize me today. God has worked a mighty wonder.

3. If you could trade places with anyone for a day, who would it be and why?

I think I would love to trade places with Beth Moore (I am assuming you mean someone alive today). I am drawn by how much she has a relationship with God, and how her mind works to sort out spiritual matters in her life. I would love to learn more about her devotional life, and to watch how she creates her studies.

If I could pick anyone at all in the past, I would want to be John, to be close to Jesus in the way that he was, to see Heaven, and all the things that Jesus did with the disciples. I do have to admit, I would not have liked to have faced the suffering he went through, but if I were Him, I would know learn how he was able to hold true to God in the face of it.

4. How would you define love?

There are different kinds of love. But the one that I am trying to learn about, to realize that God has for us all, and to be able to emulate is the agape love that is best described in I Corinthians 13:4-8a Love suffers long and is kind; love does not envy; love does not parade itself, is not puffed up; does not behave rudely, does not seek its own, is not provoked, thinks no evil; does not rejoice in iniquity, but rejoices in the truth; hears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails. … If you substitute the word God, for the word love in the above, you see a picture of God that I am trying to learn about. I fail so much in that perfect love, but it is a goal of mine to come closer to this every day.

5. If you had to pick 1 word to describe yourself, what would you choose and why?

growing.  I am growing in my understanding of God every day, growing closer to my kids, growing and learning how to be a decent mom. Growing in how I view the world, in how I act in the world. Feeling like I am growing closer to people, here on Xanga and in my circle of friends. And as I grow in these ways, it helps me to be more caring, and to see life in such a different way.

Thanks so much for asking these questions. Hope you like the answers.

Heather

About Heather Marsten

Welcome to Heather's Blog. I'm looking forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. I just moved about nine years of material over from another blog site, Xanga, who may close down mid-July. At first I was disappointed to make the move because I had a lifetime membership at Xanga and had to spend weeks transferring posts. But now I'm thrilled. Already I've met new bloggers and read many new websites. Blogging is a wonderful way to expand my horizons and garner new ideas. I'm a happily married mom of three young adults. My husband and I are proud to watch our children grow and venture out into the world. My daughter is still in college but my two sons have graduated. One has a job and the other just graduated and is in the process of finding a job in his field, physics. Anyone know of any jobs out there? I'm proud of our children and love watching them grow and mature. They've become fine, compassionate, and loving people. Empty nest? Nah, I'm too busy to let an empty nest bother me. Not enough hours in the day. My husband and I enjoy quiet time together and I have many interests to pursue - one of which is blogging :D I am a born-again believer and love God. As you read this blog, you will discover that Bible studies thrill me. There is so much wisdom contained between the covers of the Bible and I am fortunate to sit under the teachings of a remarkable pastor, Pastor Don Moore. Members of our church (Living Word Chapel in West Hurley, New York) are encouraged to teach and there are visiting pastors who stop by our church, I also study the Bible on my own and love sharing what I learn. One other passion is writing. My current work in process is a memoir. A scene from my memoir was published in a book called: Heavenly Company: Entertaining Angels Unaware - an anthology of angelic encounters compiled by Cecil Murphy. I'm hoping my memoir will encourage other survivors of abuse. I grew up in a home filled with abuse, including incest. For most of my life I was searching for something that would fill the void of not being loved by my parents. I tried many ways to find that love -- therapy, relationships, occult studies, and keeping my life so filled I had no way to think about my past. It was only when I discovered God that I was able to put the pieces of my life back together and walk forward in a joyous life. My nickname - wondering has changed from wondering where the heck God was in my life, to wondering what incredible adventure is going to happen next. I hope you enjoy my site. Please say hi, share some thoughts, and ask questions. I look forward to meeting you and checking out your sites. Have a blessed day. Heather
This entry was posted in personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

